Done

But the LORD said to Samuel, “Do not consider his appearance or his height, for I have rejected him. The LORD does not look at the things man looks at. Man looks at the outward appearance, but the LORD looks at the heart” (I Samuel 16:7).

That story is about the anointing of David. David’s elder brother Eliab was a visually impressive candidate for King. Surely, Samuel thought, the LORD’s anointed stands here before the LORD. But Samuel was bad at predicting God. Samuel was bad at finding the correct vessel for God’s work.

We are bad at predicting God. At identifying his spirit within others.

So I think I’m done.

I’m done saying:

“he’s not a Christian,”
“she can’t be a Christian”
“a Christian wouldn’t live like that” or “make that choice” or “come to that conclusion.”

Maybe {insert gasp} some people are just bad Christians. Maybe some people are just weak, indecisive, or have different convictions than I have.

I may not think it the most God-honoring thing to do/think/believe, but Christians

are gay
pray to Mary
think communism is fine
want to restrict guns
believe that Jesus’ death on the cross purchased salvation for everyone, whether they follow him or not

I may take issue with how someone interprets this or that bit of Scripture. And they may be straight up ignoring Scripture. But that doesn’t make them Not Christians. That doesn’t give me God’s eyes and God’s discernment and the ability to peer into somebody’s soul.

I’m tired of buying into the delusion that I am fit to make those judgments.

So I’m done.

Leave a Reply

