{And I Think It’s OK}

Sometimes I mourn the loss of unimportant friends. Between-and-before classes people. Study buddies. People who wanted you for a semester, year, and then decided to want other things. People who used to date a sibling or friend, but then moved on and slipped away. Military friends (or kids) who come for a season.

I think about them sometimes, and wish I could somehow have retained a little shred of them for myself. But all I have are whispers of former laughs shared; memories of notes exchanged and books lent; conversations had; papers critiqued; smiles; inside jokes.

What happens to those ghosts of smiles and inside jokes when friends stop being friends?

Leave a Reply

